Easy Vegan Recipe

Easy Vegan Recipe.

When I first started the vegan lifestyle, finding the right food to eat was often challenging. Although there are premade, frozen, vegan meals in grocery stores and there are vegan restaurants in Thunder Bay, at the moment, the variety of these products is low. Furthermore, the price of the frozen meals, since they do not come in bulk sizes, is often more expensive than non-vegan frozen meals. Even though the restaurants are often less expensive than non-vegan restaurants, I do not have the time to eat out often. Thus, with all of these obstacles to getting meals when I first started, I often just opted for beans and rice or crackers and hummus for most meals. But then this all changed when my brother, going to school to be a chef, suggested certain online recipes I should try. Vegan cooking is quick, edible right away, and tasty. After the initial recipe, I was addicted to vegan cooking. Most of the recipes I have tried online take less than 20 minutes to make. And, since there is no need to worry about raw meat, most recipes are edible right after mixing the ingredients and do not need to be fully cooked in order to safely consume (although, cooking is still an option). In addition, it is through vegan cooking that I realised how tasty food could be: since vegans work around typical recipes, they often add and mix flavours that wouldn’t appear in the original item that contained animal products. Below I will review a recipe that blew my mind with the amount of taste it fit into one meal. In the end, even though initially I was discouraged with the diet aspect of the vegan lifestyle, fast, fresh, and fully tasty vegan recipes quickly made me change my mind.

When I first started cooking vegan food, my go-to recipe search was for vegan burgers, as they are  amazingly quick to make and easy to store for future meals; plus, the variety of recipes and flavours for vegan burgers keeps them interesting: there is not just one overarching “meat” flavour. Therefore, for those who are beginning vegans, I encourage you to try this vegan recipe, as well as other vegan burger recipes you find throughout the internet. This recipe is paraphrased from the Running on Real Food vegan recipe site.

Ingredients (Taken directly from the site):

  • “1 can chickpeas, drained, well-rinsed,and mashed
  • “½ red onion, finely diced
  • “1 small zuchinni, grated
  • “3 tbsp finely chopped cilantro
  • “3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • “1 tbsp sriracha sauce
  • “2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • “1 tsp cumin
  • “1 tsp garlic powder
  • “2 tsp black pepper
  • “½ tsp sea salt
  • “1 cup quick oats (gluten-free if needed)
  • “2 tbsp olive oil” (Macey).

Procedure (Paraphrased from the site)

Step 1. Add all of the ingredients into a medium sized bowl and mix with your hands. Once mixed, form into patties.

Step 2. Either eat the burger raw or cook it on a stove or in a barbeque.

Only two steps to make a burger? See what I mean?

Formal Work Cited

Macey, Deryn. “Spicy Chickpea Veggie Burgers (Vegan, Gluten-Free).” Running on Real Food. Hello Bar, 23 May 2013. Web. 24 Nov. 2016.

Leave a Reply

